Contested board of education elections in Union County

The following is a list of contested board of education elections in Union County LocalSource’s coverage area. This newspaper encourages residents to learn about their candidates prior to voting and to make an informed decision when exercising their right to vote. Some towns are holding candidates nights and forums, which give residents the opportunity to hear directly from the candidates and incumbents. We firmly believe residents should make every attempt to inform themselves, and remember that the polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m on Tuesday, Nov. 6.


Asterisks(*) denote incumbents. Only contested elections in Union County LocalSource’s coverage are are represented.

Three 3-year terms
Gregpry DeSalvo* Jill Curran
Henry Varriano* Robert Smorol Jr.
Three 3-year terms
Jose Rodriguez Anthony Padlo*
Charlene Bathelus A. Tony Monteiro*
Jorge Casalins Elcy Castillo-Ospina*
Three 3-year terms
Angela Menza* Daniel Santos*
Calvin Lofton Beverly Powell
Andre Daniels Joao Augusto Camacho
Shelby Robinson* Bermay Gonzalez
Three 3-year terms
Paulette Drogon Joseph Lospinoso*
Gerard Laudati* Steven Banko*
Three 3-year terms
Paul Coates Jr.
Raymond Topoleski* Archie Strazzella
Jorge Alvarez* Debra Ardry
Three 3-year terms
Lillie Henderson* Gil Balanzat
Lori Kennedy Peter Kowal*
Ronald Dolce
Three 3-year terms
Richard Villeda* Arthur Rice
Anthony Esposito* Sherise Pollard
Larry Body Cindy Thomas
Three 3-year terms
David Arminio* Shawn Ramos
Thomas Layden* Guy Francis