Johnson is top seed for UCT softball for 2nd straight season; Crusaders seek first title since 1981

Defending champ GL is 2nd seed, Elizabeth 3rd, Benedictine 4th and Westfield 5th

All that’s left for Johnson is for the Crusaders to finally win the Union County Tournament again.

The Crusaders were the top seed last year, but were upset by fifth-seeded Cranford in the semifinals.

Second-seeded GL went on to defeat Cranford 4-3 in the championship game at Linden. The Highlanders captured their sixth title and first since they repeated for the only time in 2012.

Johnson was awarded the top seed for the second straight season at the Monday, April 18 seeding meeting. GL is the second seed for the second straight season.

Rounding out the top five seeds are Elizabeth at three, Benedictine Academy of Elizabeth at four and Westfield at five.

With 21 teams seeded, the preliminary round on Thursday, April 21 will include five games at the higher seeds.

Eight first round games are scheduled for Saturday, April 23 at the higher seeds.

The quarterfinals are set for Friday, April 29 and the semifinals for Saturday, April 30, all of those contests to be played at Linden.

The final is scheduled for Saturday, May 14 at Kean University’s Cougar Field in Union, The baseball UCT final is scheduled to be played on the same day at Kean, which was not available for Mother’s Day weekend.



SEEDS: 1-Johnson. 2-Gov. Livingston. 3-Elizabeth. 4-Benedictine. 5-Westfield. 6-Cranford.

7-Dayton. 8-Brearley. 9-Summit. 10-New Providence. 11-Scotch Plains. 12-Union Catholic.

13-Union. 14-Kent Place. 15-Oak Knoll. 16-Roselle. 17-Rahway. 18-Linden. 19-Plainfield.

20-New Providence. 21-Roselle Catholic.



Thursday, April 21

21-Roselle Catholic at 12-Union Catholic

20-New Providence at 13-Union

19-Plainfield at 14-Kent Place

18-Linden at 15-Oak Knoll

17-Rahway at 16-Roselle



Friday, April 22

11-Roselle Park at 6-Dayton

10-Scotch Plains at 7-Cranford

18-Linden/15-Oak Knoll at 2-Gov. Livingston

Saturday, April 23

17-Rahway/16-Roselle at 1-Johnson

19-Plainfield/14-Kent Place at 3-Elizabeth

20-New Providence/13-Union at 4-Benedictine

21-Roselle Catholic/12-Union Catholic at 5-Westfield

9-Summit at 8-Brearley



Friday, April 29

At Linden

Two games at 5:30 p.m.

Two games at 7:30 p.m.



Saturday, April 30

At Linden

Two games at 3 p.m.



Saturday, May 14

At Kean University, TBA



2015: Governor Livingston – WP: Alanna Namit

2014: Westfield – WP: Elena Scarano

2013: Westfield – WP: Elena Scarano

2012: Governor Livingston – WP: Jordan Robbins

2011: Governor Livingston – WP: Jordan Robbins

2010: Cranford – WP: Kelly Hardman

2009: Union – WP: Amanda Kardys

2008: Cranford – WP: Kelly Hardman

2007: Cranford – WP: Kelly Hardman

2006: Cranford – WP: Elena Morge

2005: Brearley – WP: Jenna Vitale

2004: Roselle Park – WP: Becky Riccitelli

2003: Roselle Park – WP: Becky Riccitelli

2002: Cranford

2001: Governor Livingston

2000: Union

1999: Governor Livingston

1998: Westfield – won as 6th seed; WP: Shannon Wagner

1997: Governor Livingston

1996: Union – WP: Laura Labonia

1995: Union – WP: Laura Labonia

1994: Union – WP: Laura Labonia

1993: Union

1992: Union

1991: Union

1990: Westfield

1989: Union Catholic

1988: Union

1987: Union

1986: Westfield

1985: Westfield

1984: Westfield

1983: Union

1982: Roselle Park

1981: Johnson Regional

1980: Linden

1979: Johnson Regional

1978: Westfield

1977: Scotch Plains

1976: Westfield


Union (11)

Westfield (9)

Gov. Livingston (6)

Cranford (5)

Roselle Park (3)

Johnson Regional (2)

Scotch Plains (1)

Linden (1)

Union Catholic (1)

Brearley (1)