Johnson football awards honors those in high school and college; Dugan a standout at TCNJ

Crusader seniors Baron, Olenick, Pecina cited

PHOTO COURTESY OF JOHNSON HIGH SCHOOL - Here is a picture of the Collegiate Athlete of the Year recipient - Dan Dugan.
PHOTO COURTESY OF JOHNSON HIGH SCHOOL – Here is a picture of the Collegiate Athlete of the Year recipient – Dan Dugan – and Clark Pop Warner scholarship recipient Ali Dugan.

On March 4, the Arthur L. Johnson Crusader Football Team held their annual post-season awards banquet. Head Football Coach Michael Mancino presided over the event as all athletes were honored for their contributions to Crusader Football. In addition, numerous scholarships were awarded to deserving student athletes throughout the evening. The night culminated with the showing of the 2012 Crusader Football Team’s highlights. It was a wonderful evening to celebrate both past and present Crusaders and continues to keep the tradition of Crusader Football alive and well.


Below is a recap of the scholarships awarded throughout the evening:


The Collegiate Athlete of the Year

The Collegiate Athlete of the Year honors a former Crusader that has gone on to succeed both in the classroom and on the athletic fields. The 2012 recipient was Dan Dugan, who quarterbacked the 2008 Crusader Football Team to an NJSIAA State Final appearance. Some of Dan Dugan’s honors as a player included: 1st Team All-Conference, 1st Team All-County, and selected to participate in the North – South Game his Senior Season.


In addition, he was the starter for TCNJ this past season at quarterback and broke 5 school records (Most Passing Yards Season 2392, Most Completions Season 260, Most Attempts Season 419, Most Completions Game 34, and Most Attempts Game 50) while leading his team. Dan is currently attending TCNJ where he is finishing his degree while recently completing his football career.


The Henry A. Varriano Memorial Award

Henry R.Varriano presents this award to a senior player who displays determination and a never give up attitude. The recipient of this award always puts Team Above SelfSacrificed Individuality for the TeamPushed himself to achieve greater heightsOvercame Adversityand displayed perseverance. The Varriano Award is for a scholarship and plaque. — The 2012 Varriano Award winner was Andrew Zub.


The Clark Pop-Warner Scholarship

Clark Pop-Warner annually gives a scholarship to one football player and one cheerleader that have come through the program and continued their careers in their respective sports while attending ArthurL.JohnsonHigh School. The Clark Pop-Warner Scholarship is for a scholarship and plaque. The 2012 recipients were Brian Moran and Ali Dugan.


Century 21 JRS Academic Achievement Award

George and Carene Sanguliano annually present the Century 21 JRS Academic Achievement Award to our Senior Football player with the highest Grade Point average. The Award includes a scholarship and plaque. This year’s 2012 Academic Achievement Award winner is Ryan Baron.


The Dennis Carpini Memorial Scholarship

The Dennis Carpini Memorial Scholarship recipient receives a scholarship & plaque. It is presented to the senior football player who, like Dennis, overcame odds and had a true love of Crusader Football. The athlete must be a heart and soul competitor, a unifier, and a positive role model. The 2012 Dennis Carpini Memorial Scholarship goes to…Eddie Olenick.


The Thomas Santaguida “Saint of the Year” Award

The loss of Thomas Santaguida devastated all of us. We lost a man we all loved and admired. When Mr. Santaguida came to Johnson in 1993, he had to replace one of the most respected and loved men in ALJ history in Lou Paragallo. He won everyone over with his dignity, his professionalism, his confidence, and most of all, his sense of sportsmanship and fair play. He was a mentor to us all and we became stronger from the experience. As a high school player at Plainfield Mr. Santaguida played football and basketball. His coaches and teammates say his fiery stile and zest for competition stood out even then. Those are the qualities that are celebrated in naming the 2012 Johnson Football “Saint of the Year”. — The 2012 “Saint of the Year” is…Lance Pecina.