Honorary Captains for Thanksgiving football game include John Wagner of Roselle Park and Lou Grasso, Sr. of Roselle

Roselle Park’s 1926 team, which went 6-3, was considered Union County champs.

The Honorary Captains for the 100th Roselle Park-Roselle football game – scheduled for Thanksgiving morning at Roselle Park’s Herm Shaw Field – are John Wagner of Roselle Park and Lou Grasso, Sr. of Roselle.

Wagner, a 1969 Roselle Park graduate, was the head coach at Roselle Park from 1981-2005 after serving as an assistant coach on Geoff Hill’s staff from 1976-1980.


PHOTOS BY JR PARACHINI – This is the trophy that goes to the team that last won 3 games in a row in the series.

The 1979 squad was the first of Roselle Park’s 3 state championship teams in the playoff era. The Panthers won North 2, Group 1 declared that season.

Sr., a 1968 Roselle graduate, was the head coach at Roselle from 1979-2003.

The game will kick off Thursday, Nov. 23 at 10:30 a.m.

For the first time in the series the game is being played at the same field two years in a row.

At present, Roselle Park is in possession of the Shoe trophy, emblematic of the team that wins the game three years in a row. Roselle has won the last two games, so if the Rams win on Thanksgiving they will get the trophy back and be in possession of it until Roselle Park wins the game three straight years.